Graduate Studies Committee/Recruitment, Admissions and Financial Aid Committee Annual Report 2014-15

Members: Kelzie Beebe (student member), Beth Berghoff, Chad Christensen, Ben Edmonds, John Hitchcock, Cindy Hmelo-Silver, Paula Magee, Alex McCormick (Chair), Gary Pike, Heidi Ross, Sandy Strain, Karen Wohlwend
Ex-Officio: Elizabeth Boling, Ghangis Carter, Annela Teemant
Staff: Matthew Boots, Terri Shockley, Liyao Zhao

Meetings: Six (6) meetings were held during the 2014-15 academic year.

Course Proposals

- L750- course change request approved
- W515- course change request approved
- W531- course change request approved
- W540- course change request approved
- W550- course change request approved
- C590- new course request approved
- Y604- course change request approved with minor changes
- Y615- course change request approved with minor changes
- T550- course change request approved
- C661- new course request approved with minor changes
- C678- new course request approved
- P645- new course request approved
- W520- course change request approved
- P521- new course request approved
- Y500- course change request approved with minor changes

Academic Programs/Certificates

Approved Graduate Fundraising & Development Certificate Approved *Bulletin* revision: Co-requisite Labs S/F Grading Approved IUPUI Graduate ELS Certificate Approved SPEA Principal Program Approved MS in HESA curriculum revisions Approved proposal for doctoral minors in Educational Leadership Approved Ed.D and Ed.S. in Educational Leadership Programs revisions Approved proposal for Teacher Education Minor Approved Urban Education Advocacy and Leadership Graduate Certificate with minor changes Approved LCLE doctoral minor Approved C&I doctoral minor with minor changes

New Policy or Change in Policy

Approved proposal to amend the School of Education policy on minor-field qualifying exams, with minor changes. The proposed revision to the *Bulletin* would remove the requirement for minor qualifying exams for doctoral students who major and minor within the School of Education. Departments and programs may still elect to require a qualifying exam for their doctoral minors, but the requirement must apply to all students completing the doctoral minor, whether the students' major is inside or outside the SoE. Programs intending to retain the requirement for minor qualifying exams will need to bring this program revision forward for GSC and Policy Council approval.

The change in policy will take effect with the publication of the next edition of the *Bulletin*. Until that time departments and programs may elect to waive the minor qualifying exam requirement.

Awards

The Graduate Studies Committee/Recruitment, Admissions and Financial Aid Committee is responsible for recommending recipients of the Beechler Award, Dissertation of the Year Award, the Dean's Fellowship, and the Award for Excellence in Mentoring for the School of Education. Sub-committees of the GSC/RAFA committee were established to review and select the 2014-15 recipients. Beechler recipients: Beth Buchholz, Christy Wessel-Powell, Serife Sevis, Ying-Sin Chen and Jeremy T. Snipes. Dissertation of the Year recipient: Christine Beresniova. Dean's Fellowship Award: Dean Gonzalez approved 2 CEP nominees who met the Dean's Fellowship requirements. Award for Excellence in Mentoring recipient: Mary Waldron.

No old business remained on the agenda

Respectfully submitted, Alex McCormick, GSC/RAFA Chair April 24, 2015