#### Minutes from Meeting 3:30-5:00 pm Rooms 2102 (Bloomington) and 3138B (Indianapolis)

<u>Members Present:</u> Alexander McCormick, Brendan Maxcy, Erik Tillema, John Hitchcock, Kelzie Beebe, Marjorie Manifold, Mary McMullen, Sam Museus, Scott Bellini

Ex-Officio Present: Annela Teemant, Elizabeth Boling

Members Absent: Chad Christensen, Ghangis Carter, Sandra Strain

Staff: Jezreel McMillen, Liyao Zhao, Matthew Boots

Presenters: Keith Barton, Susan Whiston

- I. Review and Approval of Minutes from September 2, 2015
  - Brendan Maxcy moved to approve the minutes from September 2, 2015, as presented.
  - > Marjorie Manifold seconded the motion.
  - ➤ All in favor.

#### II. New Business

### A. Proposal for Revision of MSEd in Mental Health Counseling

The second item of business concerned a Proposal for Revision of MSEd in Mental Health Counseling. Susan Whiston presented and fielded questions on this item. Whiston proposed two changes: First, to increase the credit hours from 48 to 60, in order to meet new regulations for the master's degree; and second, to change the name of the master's from "Community Agency" to "Clinical Mental Health Counseling." After some discussion, the committee agreed that these changes were appropriate, given that Ed.S. will "soon become an unattractive option" in the job market. Moreover, Bellini added that the changes would allow for better communication to students about what exactly is expected of them.

- > Marjorie Manifold moved to approve the proposal, as presented.
- *Kelzie Beebe seconded the motion.*
- $\succ$  All in favor.

# B. Proposal for Procedure on Course Proposals

The third item of business concerned a Proposal for Procedure on Course Proposals. The proposal suggests that in future course proposals, the syllabus should reflect the mode of the course (face-to-face; online; hybrid), and that if there are multiple versions of the course, there should be multiple syllabi incorporated into the course proposal. It was noted that if the proposal is just for a face-to-face course, an online syllabus is not required.

- *Iohn Hitchcock moved to approve the proposal, as presented.*
- > Marjorie Manifold seconded the motion.
- > All in favor.

# C. New Course Request for J645

The next item of business concerned a New Course Request, J645. Keith Barton presented and fielded questions on this item. The course is currently offered as a special topics course and enjoys high enrollment. McMullen questioned whether the course was "personality driven" by the current instructor, but according to Barton, the course has potential to be taught by other faculty (despite the current instructor being relatively young). The course is typically offered during the early afternoon, and will be available next fall.

- Mary McMullen moved to approve the new course request for J645, as presented.
- Scott Bellini seconded the motion.
- $\succ$  All in favor.

### III. Discussion Items

# A. Program Review

The Graduate Studies Committee then moved to discussion items. The first was a Program Review of the Doctoral Program in Curriculum Studies. Keith Barton and Cary Buzzelli presented and fielded questions on this item. The review commended the department on the faculty's commitment to the department, particularly in terms of mentoring students in social studies and early childhood education. It also commended the department's organizational autonomy and the quality of its students. The report included areas to improve as well: 1) improve mentoring and sense of community among non-SS/ECE students; 2) develop more coherent admission procedures (which the department has accomplished by meeting together so that every committee member reviewed every file); 3) expand funding opportunities for students; 4) more collaboration with schools in Indiana; and 5) hire new faculty, particularly minorities; and 6) improve minority student recruitment.

The chair asked Prof. Barton to prepare a short statement summarizing the review's recommendations and the program's responses (appended to these minutes).

#### B. Subcommittees

a. Beechler Award

Brendan Maxcy volunteered to chair this committee; Sam Museus and Kelzie Beebe volunteered to be members of this committee.

b. Outstanding Dissertation Fellowship

John Hitchcock volunteered to chair this committee; Marjorie Manifold volunteered to be the member of this committee.

c. Dean's Fellowship

Chad Christensen was nominated to continue as chair; Ghangis Carter was nominated to continue as a member, and Scott Bellini volunteered to join the committee.

There were questions about the eligibility of IUPUI students for these awards. Elizabeth Boling said she would investigate and report back.