# Minutes from Meeting 10:00-11:30AM Rooms 2140 (Bloomington) and 3138B (Indianapolis)

<u>Members Present:</u> Ben Edmonds, Kelzie Beebe, John Hitchcock, Sandy Strain, Beth Berghoff, Alex McCormick, Gary Pike, Ghangis Carter

Ex-Officio Present: Elizabeth Boling, Annela Teemant

Members Absent: Karen Wohlwend, Cindy Hmelo-Silver, Heidi Ross, Chad Christensen

Staff: Terri Shockley, Matthew Boots, Liyao Zhao

**Presenters:** Barbara Dennis, Mitzi Lewison, Lara Lackey

### I. Review and Approval of Minutes from February 27, 2015

- ➤ Ben Edmonds moved to approve the minutes from February 27, 2015, with the following changes: the semicolon in the first line of page two be changed to a comma.
- ➤ John Hitchcock seconded the motion.
- > *All in favor.*

#### II. Old Business

### A. Course Change Request: Y500

The first item of business was a course change request for Y500. Barbara Dennis described some difficulties with the Y500 course, deriving from its designation as a 0 credit course. She asked that the Graduate Studies Committee change the course designation to a 1 credit course, so that it could be taught by Associate Instructors (AIs), and so that those AIs could get paid. The ultimate goal would be to broaden the number of Y500 courses that a student can accrue.

- ➤ Kelzie Beebe moved to approve the course change request for Y500, with the following change: the course should be fixed at 1-credit in the syllabus.
- ➤ John Hitchcock seconded the motion.
- > *All in favor.*

#### III. New Business

### A. Proposal for LCLE PhD Minor

The second item of business was a proposal for LCLE PhD Minor. Mitzi Lewison asked that the name of the doctoral minor be changed to Literacy Culture and Language Education, so as to correspond to the major name. Elizabeth asked if it is a PhD minor or doctoral minor. She explained that if it is doctoral minor, then both PhD and EdD

students can take it. Mitzi then suggested change it to a doctoral minor. The committee emphasized that this change would be for a *doctoral* minor, not a Ph.D. minor.

- ➤ Ben Edmonds moved to the name change for the LCLE doctoral minor, as presented.
- ➤ John Hitchcock seconded the motion.
- > All in favor.

#### B. Proposal for C&I PhD Minors

The third item of business was a proposal for C&I PhD Minors. Lara Lackey noted that the school offered minors in several "content areas," but that none of these, with the exception of the C&I and Special Ed minors, were official. The committee decided to review the item as the approval of new minors with the understanding that they would be doctoral, and not Ph.D. minors.

- ➤ John Hitchcock moved to approve the C&I doctoral minors, with the following changes: 1) delete the last sentence in the Mathematics Education and Social Studies Education descriptions; 2) change Ph.D. minor to doctoral minor in Science Education description; and 3) change all Ph.D. minor labels to doctoral minor labels.
- *▶* Ben Edmonds seconded the motion.
- > All in favor.

#### IV. Discussion items

## A. Dissertation of the Year Award

The winner of the Dissertation of the Year Award was Christine Beresniova. On behalf of the Dissertation of the Year Award Committee, John suggested that five changes be made to the Dissertation of the Year Award process: 1) Provide all nominees a "certificate" of honorable mention/merit and remind students that they should include such in their CVs. 2) Acknowledge all nominees through a letter of congratulations and again at the appropriate awards ceremony at which they receive their certificates. 3) Consider creating a smaller fund so that honorable mention candidates receive a (much smaller) cash prize. 4) Enlist the help of Director of Communications and others to spotlight the winner of the award in a write-up of high visibility. 5) Include that write-up or summary with the picture of the student on the School of Education website. There is nothing more powerful than telling the School of Education's story of excellence and public relevance, indeed its necessity, through the work of its outstanding graduates.

### B. Anna Ochoa-Becher International Travel Fellowship

Elizabeth explained the Anna Ochoa-Becher International Travel Fellowship. The winner is selected during the spring semester, and the funds are distributed to the winning student during the fall semester. The committee is still waiting for applications to come in.

### C. Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Liyao told the committee that Mary Waldron was the winner of the 2015 Award for Excellence in Mentoring. Ghangis suggested that an award be given to staff in addition to faculty. Annela supported this view, saying that there should be two awards, one for faculty and another for staff. Elizabeth noted that academic advising is a very different kind of mentoring than the mentoring that staff does. Ghangis emphasized that his suggestion was not meant to be a competition between faculty and staff, but that there could be two awards. Alex suggested that Ghangis write a recommendation for the committee to consider in the fall, although the committee was unsure as to where a concrete recommendation would be directed.

#### D. **Program Review**

Elizabeth noted that on the first agenda of the fall semester, three programs will present their reviews to the committee, and demonstrate how they have revised their programs over the previous year.

#### E. Beechler Award

Ben noted that five Beechler Awards had been given out, and that all \$9,800 had been given out.